Personal Injury FAQs

8 Frequently Asked Questions for Personal Injury Law Claims

Personal Injury FAQ Guide

Welcome to our guide to personal injury FAQs, where we aim to provide clear and concise answers to some of the most common questions surrounding personal injury claims. Sustaining a personal injury can be a daunting experience, often leading to numerous uncertainties about your rights, the legal process, and the steps you should take to protect your interests. Our dedicated FAQ guide is designed to address these concerns and offer valuable insights into the world of personal injury law from our experienced team of attorneys.

Need Help With a Personal Injury Claim?


I’ve been injured in an accident. Now what?

The first step is to seek immediate medical treatment. If your case involves a car accident, you should contact the police to obtain the police report, or request a report be made if police did not respond to the scene. If your injury was at a business or other public place, such as a slip-and-fall, you should make a report with a manager or business owner. Don’t wait to consult an experienced personal injury attorney, such as those at Costello Law Firm. The sooner you contact the Costello Law Firm, the sooner we can help you with your case!


Do I have to pay a fee to consult with the personal injury attorneys at Costello Law Firm?

Absolutely not. One of the experienced personal injury attorneys at Costello Law Firm will meet with you to evaluate your case at no charge. If you decide to retain the Costello Law Firm, you will only pay a fee at the end of the case if we are successful in recovering money on your behalf.


How do I know if I have a personal injury claim?

You have the right to file a claim for personal injury if you have been injured because of the negligence of another person. This can be due to a car accident, being struck as a pedestrian or bicyclist, a slip and fall due to an unsafe condition such as ice and snow, a defective or unsafe product, or a dog bite. A claim for personal injury can include monetary compensation for pain, suffering, decrease in quality of life and loss of function as well as payment of uncompensated medical bills.


How long after an injury do I have to file a personal injury lawsuit?

Generally speaking, the statute of limitations for injury claims in New Jersey is two years. That does not mean you should wait to consult an experienced personal injury attorney, such as those at Costello Law Firm. Anytime we are hired in a personal injury case we get to work right away. Our experienced lawyers and staff will work hard on your case every day to help you get the best result possible. It is also important to get medical attention right away. Sometimes the extent of an injury is not clear soon afterward and it is important to have a doctor evaluate you as soon after the accident as possible.


Who pays my medical bills if I was injured in a car accident?

New Jersey is a “No-fault” state, meaning medical bills stemming from an auto accident are paid by your own insurance company, regardless of who caused the accident. The specific coverage for medical bills is called PIP (Personal Injury Protection) and is available in amounts from $15,000.00 to $250,000.00. Don’t worry – your rates will not go up. This is coverage you’ve already paid for, and it is your right to use it. If your medical bills are more than your selected PIP limits, the experienced personal injury attorneys at Costello Law Firm can seek to have the at-fault person held responsible for the unpaid bills.


What if the driver that injured me is uninsured?

Most New Jersey car insurance policies carry something called uninsured motorist (UM) coverage which allows you to recover a monetary award for your injuries even if the at fault driver has no insurance. UM coverage limits usually match your bodily injury liability limits which in New Jersey are a minimum of $25,000.00 per person injured, per accident. The claim is made against your auto own insurance company. Don’t worry – your rates will not go up. This is coverage you’ve already paid for, and it is your right to use it if you are injured by an uninsured driver.


What if I was injured while I was working?

Make an immediate report to your supervisor of the circumstances and nature of the injury. It is illegal for employers to punish or retaliate against their employees for making a claim for Workers Compensation benefits. These are benefits you are entitled to by law. Also, be sure to contact us as soon as possible. The Costello Law Firm has experienced attorneys that handle Workers Compensation cases for people injured on the job.


What kind of coverage and limits should I have on my car insurance?

The experienced personal injury attorneys at Costello Law Firm have written an in-depth explanation of how auto insurance works in New Jersey and what coverages and limits we recommend you have.

You can also bring in your automobile insurance declaration page for us to review. The declarations page is sent to you by your insurance company and lists your coverages, limits, and deductibles.

“I’ve always been pleased with the responsiveness, compassion, and intelligence of Chris and his staff. He always asks the right questions in the best ways to assist me as a client. I would wholeheartedly endorse the Costello Law Firm if you are in need of a personal injury attorney.”
– Mike F


1213T High St. Burlington, NJ 08016 (609) 386-5400